1 Comment

DIY Learning

I’ve spent a considerable amount of time trying to determine what I want to learn about to make me a better teacher. And then it hit me – I have always struggled with making my classes more student-centered rather than teacher-directed. I think this is partly due to the fear of my classes getting “out of control.” I always want to make sure than everything will go just right, and it scares me to think that something that I didn’t plan for will happen. Because, what if it’s bad? But this semester I taking two courses in a technology-driven, interactive environment. In both classes there are obvious class plans and goals, but they allow students to have freedom to explore topics of interest and therefore shape the specific class learning. This has excited me to the possibilities of how I can bring this environment into my own classroom.

So then I started developing a game plan to integrate a student-centered environment that excited and motivated them to learn and make class their own. A big part of that plan is incorporating technology into the classroom effectively. But I realized that I know how to use technology for my own purposes, but I didn’t really know how to develop its use into my lessons. And I also know that students know much more than I do about it, so if I am going to be an effective classroom manager, I had better know what I am doing or I will not actually reach my goals.

There are several online professional development courses that the state of Delaware offers that are free. E-Learning Delaware, http://www.dcet.k12.de.us/elearning/index.shtml, offers courses throughout the year for Delaware teachers. I was excited to see that they offer so many options that are centered around technology integration. The courses last about six weeks, and there are specific objectives each week that participants must meet and a final project due. This really meets my needs, so I am excited to see what the winter course offerings will be!

One comment on “DIY Learning

  1. Hi Tammi,

    I have also thought for a long time about trying to make my courses more student centered and the courses I have taken this semester have fueled that fire. I also intend to incorporate a number of the technologies I have used this semester in my courses next semester. In fact, I’m actually thinking of flipping one of my courses!

    That being said, I do not want to let go of the face-to-face time with my students – I just want to use that time in a different way. My interaction with students, I now feel, should be about answering their questions, giving them guidance, and fostering their desire to explore independent of me. For me, this is one of the areas where edu-punk fails. I can motivate and encourage my students to learn on their own during face-to-face meetings – how would that be handled in a MOOC for instance?

Leave a Reply

Alexandra Reid

Musings of a Doctoral Student

kotchjester

Capturing My Thoughts

Zen of Being Digital

Finding Peace in the Spaces Between

Open Reflections

My personal open space to reflect on the role of open in higher education.

tinatrimble

Social Networking in Higher Education

iPadagogy

Michael C Reichert, Ed.D., Director of Technology and Instruction at Salesianum School

kristindianebond

Social Networking

pattersonchristopher

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Mike Fern

A blog about me and for EDUC 439/639

Finding the Road

A contemplative account of one family's journey through medical complexity

samjohnsontech

Sam, through the looking glass . . . life as a High School IT Tech

Jann Marie EDUC

Curriculum, Technology and Higher Education Program at UD

williamboyer

My Journey Through Social Media

the joys of teaching

Just another WordPress.com site

Tammi Canty

Observations on life, learning, and social media

